Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (14) - TV Shows (4) - Books (3)

The Lego Movie review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 20 February 2014 08:41 (A review of The Lego Movie)

Some really fun surprises. I'm so relieved that I was able to enjoy them. Works on multiple levels!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gravity review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 20 February 2014 08:32 (A review of Gravity)

It is like no other movie I've ever seen. Beautiful filming to match outstanding performances, especially from Sandra Bullock.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Goats review

Posted : 3 years, 6 months ago on 11 February 2014 03:19 (A review of Goats)

Such a nice cast and some fun performances, but it never gelled as a movie for me. I wanted more. The ending was a little "meh," too.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Super High Me review

Posted : 3 years, 8 months ago on 18 December 2013 07:57 (A review of Super High Me)

good clean fun - loved the people in this, but there were some serious and thoughtful moments, too.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Modern Family review

Posted : 4 years, 6 months ago on 28 January 2013 07:12 (A review of Modern Family)

Week in, week out - one of the best examples of comedy - and entertainment on television at the moment. It's a "not miss" at our house.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Silver Linings Playbook review

Posted : 4 years, 6 months ago on 28 January 2013 04:26 (A review of Silver Linings Playbook)

Wanted to say a few things about SLP while it is still fresh in my mind.
First off, Jennifer Lawrence is the real deal. I predict that she will have the big one (Oscar) within five years. As an actress, I've been very impressed with her so far. I'm more impressed with how she has been handling her new found fame. Don't change a thing - inside or out.
I'm also a big fan of Bradley Cooper's performance in this movie. While it was challenging to watch in spots, the comedy helped to balance out the more serious overtones of mental illness and loss.
Finally, this was an important movie in that it may open up a dialogue about mental health in this country and how we might be able to recognize if someone is having an issue, be that a loved one, friend, co-worker or anyone else. Gone should be the days where we poke fun of individuals with mental illness. It's a serious disease that we are still struggling with as a society.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Lincoln review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 16 January 2013 07:10 (A review of Lincoln)

Along with Saving Private Ryan and Schindler's List, Lincoln should be required viewing for years to come to help future generations understand what happened in that turbulent time. Outstanding performances by all and beautiful (and stirring) visuals throughout.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Friday the 13th Part VII: The New Blood review

Posted : 6 years, 5 months ago on 4 March 2011 01:06 (A review of Friday the 13th Part VII: The New Blood)

This movie will always have a special place in my heart. It was the first movie I saw with my future wife when we were in high school.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Surrogates review

Posted : 6 years, 5 months ago on 3 March 2011 02:32 (A review of Surrogates)

First off, I was drawn to this movie due to the concept. I dabbled in Second Life for a while and thought, "Huh, wouldn't it be interesting to have Second Life - but have it be Real Life!" Still, this movie didn't live up to my expectations. While the effects were pretty good and the characters were mostly believeable - except for maybe the thugs for the Prophet - Surrogates was missing something. I wanted the future to look different somehow. Grittier or prettier or something. Add a new building to Boston's skyline - or flyin' cars. I don't know. And where were the animal or lizard surrogates? You know they would be used. People would take this technology to the nth degree.

All in all, I had high hopes for Surrogates, but this one fell short.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Olive's Ocean

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 4 February 2011 04:04 (A review of Olive's Ocean (Newbery Honor Book))

Review: (Grade 5-9) – Just before twelve-year-old Martha Boyle and her family leave their Madison, Wisconsin home for a trip to Rhode Island, the mother of a classmate delivers a hand-written page from the journal of a her daughter, Olive Barstow, a fellow student tragically killed in a biking accident. Olive mentions Martha in her journal that she hoped to be friends with Martha over the summer. This information hangs over Martha, as she and her family visit her Godbee, or grandmother on the Atlantic Ocean. Like many books for young adult readers, Martha is struggling with growing up and has difficulties understanding both of her parents. What’s more, she is the middle child with a little high maintenance baby sister named Lucy and a slightly older brother named Vince, who teases her in a good brotherly way. It is the relationship with Godbee that is the most revered to Martha and she ends up sharing a great deal about her hopes and fears over the time she’s visiting. In addition to sorting out what to do about Olive, she is confronted with young love for the first time with one of the neighbor boys, Jimmy. When his feelings for her turn out to be part of a bet, she is obviously crushed, but the reader is able to see her come out of the experience stronger and more mature, thanks to the support of family. In the end, Henkes, well known for his Caldecott Honor caliber books, tells this story with the same kind of commitment, albeit for a slightly older audience. This story has a timeless quality about it and should bring enjoyment to young adult readers for years to come.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block